Hawks and Yellowjackets

Hawks and Yellowjackets

  DALLAS — River Hill of Rockwall earned a trip back to the University Interscholastic League state cross country meet with an eighth-place finish at the Region II-6A meet on Monday.

  Hill clocked a time of 15 minutes, 22.01 seconds for the 5,000-meter run to qualify for the state meet on Saturday at Old Settlers Park in Round Rock. Hill will run the final race of the day at 3:10 p.m. Last year he finished 97th at state in the time of 16:05.12.

  Spencer Cardinal of The Woodlands, who placed third at state last year, won the region title at 14:38.86. Cardinal also helped The Woodlands win the team title with 66 points. Klein was second with 73.

  Hill helped the Jackets finish 15th with 390 points. Brayden Ortiz of Rockwall was 71st at 16:29.98, followed by teammates Herman Hudson (88th, 16:41.75), Daniel Montenegro (132nd, 17:28.21), Wesley Shumake (158th, 18:21.16), Bryce Wurster (177th, 19:12.92) and Luke Avery (181st, 19:51.10).

  Rockwall-Heath finished 17th with 459 points.

  Nate Brenner finished 59th in 16:20.14 to lead the Hawks. He was followed by teammates Frank Douglas (101st, 16:53.96), Max Douglas (110th, 17:02.60), Keith Boudewijn (133th, 17:32.08), Dylan Hardin (134th, 17:32.59), Warren O’Connor (142nd, 17:47.89) and Jake Dalfrey (147th, 17:54.76).

 Rockwall placed 14th in the girls division with 413 points while Heath was 17th with 471. Prosper took the team title with 72 points and Austin Vandegrift was second with 75.

  Kate Avery led Rockwall with a 76th place finish in 20:03.69. She was followed by teammates Jamison Gladney (86th, 20:19.51), Kendall Watkins (106th, 20:54.61), Camryn Barineau (108th, 20:56.29), Adrienne Brown (112th, 21:00.32) and Shelby Watkins (117th, 21:16.41).

  Caroline Hargrave paced Heath with a 67th-place finish in 19:54.50. Following her were teammates Jordyn Brown (91st, 20:28.80), Makayla Bratcher (94th, 20:37.11), Hannah Jacobbe (136th, 21:54.48), Lizbeth Aguillon (159th, 22:41.46), Danya Smith (169th, 23:12.47).

  Aubrey O’Connell of Prosper won the girls 5,000-meter title in 17:36.57. Brenna Serby of Allen was second at 18:05.22.

Recommended for you