New party chair

Ericka Ledferd has been elected Rockwall County Democratic Chair.

Ericka Ledferd has been elected Rockwall County Democratic Chair.

She succeeded Judith Matherne, who has been leading the Rockwall County Democrats since 2013. Ledferd most recently served as Rockwall County LULAC President. Before that, she served as an educator for Royse City ISD. Earlier in her career, Ledferd worked and volunteered for several organizations as a community organizer dealing with voting participation, immigration issues, and education opportunities. Before that, she worked as a Spanish instructor for Texas A&M University-Commerce and TRIO Program at Southern Methodist University.

Ledferd received her Bachelor of Science degree from Texas A&M University-Commerce in political science and an Interdisciplinary Minor and a Master of Arts degree in Spanish literature. Ledferd is a 2020 fellow graduate from the Dallas New Leaders Council.

Ledferd will be working along with the Interim Rockwall County Democratic Party Chair, Susie Stansel, who will transition as the new Rockwall County Executive Director when Ledferd officially assumes the role of the Rockwall County Democratic Chair on Aug. 3. Ledferd is the first Latina ever to hold the position.

She is married to David Ledferd, and they have three children: Vilma, David and Nickos.

Recommended for you