The Republican incumbents seeking re-election to the United States House of Representatives and the Texas House are unopposed in seeking their party’s nominations in next year’s primary elections.

Both candidates will be facing Democratic Party challengers in November, 2020.

Filing for the March 3, 2020 Democratic and Republican Party primary elections concluded on the evening of December 9.

According to the Texas Secretary of State Elections Division, U.S. Representative for District 4 John Ratcliffe of Rockwall filed for the Republican Party nomination in seeking re-election to the position.

Russell Foster, an IT specialist from Sherman, filed for the Democratic Party nomination for the office.

Incumbent Representative for Texas House District 33 Justin Holland of Rockwall filed for the GOP nomination in seeking re-election and will face Andy Rose, a project management professional from Farmersville, who filed for the Democratic Party nomination for the post.

Candidates seeking an office in a particular county file with their respective county Democratic or Republican Party offices. Candidates whose jurisdiction covers multiple counties file with the state party offices.

Feb. 3, 2020 is the last day to register to vote for the primary elections. Early voting is scheduled Feb 18-28, 2020.

Recommended for you